How Often Should I Change My Tires?

barbara terryI have always liked the little tricks of the trade. When I first started driving, my mom helped me out with this one. You are going to love the simplicity of it. Take a standard US penny with Abe Lincoln’s head on it. Insert the penny into a space between the tread of the tire. If you can see the top of his majestic head, you better take a trip down to your local tire joint and slap 4 spanking new ones on your mode of transportation. A more conservative approach would be to pay attention to the mileage allotted for the life of the tire or if you think the tread is getting a little weak, then get your tire store to inspect them and give you their opinion. I would recommend spending an little extra dough and get the Road Hazard Warranty offered, it will save you in the long run pertaining to the life of your tires, also it is very important to have your tires balanced and rotated every 5000 to 7000 miles.

I would love my readers to write in with any other little tricks of the trade that I may not be aware of. Looking forward to checking them out!

Question: Sent in by Tom Brown. My bright lights are not working on my car.
Answer: Hi Tom, Okay, a few things may be wrong here. First of all I would check to see if it was just the bulb, then I would recommend replacing whichever headlight you is not illuminating. If the problem still exists you will need to venture into the bright light switch on your steering column, or if you are driving around in your grandparents car, you will have to check into the switch on the floorboard, you know the one down on the floor by your left foot.

Question: Sent it by Rebecca Chung. Hi, My car seems to have a hard time starting and not stalling in wet weather. Will you please tell me why?
Answer: If you car runs great in dry weather but is impossible to keep running in wet weather, it is more than likely a crack in your distributor cap. I do not know how dirty you want to get your hands under the hood performing mechanical repairs. I would suggest next time it is damp, pop your hood, locate your distributor cap, unscrew it, take a clean dry cloth and wipe off the under belly of the cap making sure it is very dry, then replace it by screwing it back on. If your car starts right up, then we have figured out the repair that will need to be addressed. Keep in mind though that as soon as a little moisture works its way back to that cap, the problem will reoccur. Most importantly always think safety first. I am all about being very careful and safe when I am working on anything related to my car. Always make sure you turn your engine off, engage your emergency brake before attempting any chore. Keep in mind that those parts under the hood that resemble a jumbled mess of metal get very hot so be extremely cautious and careful not to burn yourself.

 

Barbara Terry

For more blogs visit – barbaraterry.com/cararticles.html

Leave a Reply

